Pin of the Week: Do you want to build a Snowman?

Do you want to build a snowman?

Snow is coming down pretty fast, and it’s a little reminder of home. Coming from Philadelphia, I am no stranger to winter weather. This is only a taste of what my family is experiencing up north, but for some reason it brings me a little closer to home. Since I am in the south, all of the people in town are headed to the store to stock up on bread and milk for 0.5 inches of snow. High Point even cancelled classes… so we have a SNOW DAY.

I am reminded of what we used to do as kids on a snow day. In college, we’re all pretty much big kids. I love snuggling up and enjoying the cold weather from inside, but it can get a little boring. I basically spent the first half of the day watching Netflix and surfing Pinterest.

And to no surprise, I found a couple of activities to keep me busy this snow day. I live in a sorority house with 15 girls. There’s always someone to hang out with.

Here’s what we came up with.

1. Bake Cookies

2. Make a Hot Chocolate Bar (complete with marshmallows and whipped cream)

3. Watch a Movie

4. Play Charades

5. Have  Board Game Marathon.

Some of the ideas sound kind of childish, but what a perfect day to bring out your inner child!

The movie we chose? Frozen of course.

If you’re not a fan of the snow, just let it go and make the best of it!

th

 

5 thoughts on “Pin of the Week: Do you want to build a Snowman?

  1. blue17cristy says:

    I think it’s funny when HPU has a snow day, because you can totally tell who is from the North and who ins’t. I’m definitely not northern, I’m actually from Mexico, so I have only seen snow a handful of times (all in the US). So… I still get super excited when we have even a slight snowfall. I still go outside and play in the snow and take sooo many photos like a little kid. But I enjoyed reading your post because it wasn’t a complaint about the fact that people were freaking out about the 1/2 inch of snow, you actually mentioned indoor activities and fun stuff to do during your day off… 🙂

    Like

  2. dixieglaser says:

    OBVIOUSLY i want to build a snowman! I agree, I wish there had been enough snow to play in because thats the best part of snow! But my roommates and I did exactly what you did. We watched a movies and cuddled up on our couches do enjoy a much needed day off. I love all of your ideas on how to have an old fashioned snow day. Because every kid knows the best kind of holidays are the unexpected ones.

    Like

  3. kathrynhalliburton says:

    I was so excited to hear we had a snow day! I have been hoping for one all winter! I too spent most of my day watching Netflix, it was way too cold for me to venture outside. I love the list of activities you came up with and sometimes it’s fun to be a kid again, especailly being seniors and all. Though now we had our snow day I’m ready for warm weather again! Stay warm and enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  4. christinarcarbone says:

    I love SNOW DAYS! It has occurred to me that this past snow day could have been my last and that makes me sad. I’m so happy I got to enjoy it and your tips helped make it so much more fun! Keep them coming, can’t wait to see what you come up with next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment